Homemade Eggnog in Korea!

7 12 2012

Things you’ll never find in Korea #72: Eggnog

One of the things I always love about the holidays is the special foods and drinks. This is why I tend to get roped into cooking for WinK events. But so many people were posting on facebook yesterday about eggnog that it got me going. I made it last winter, but for some reason, I can’t find the recipe that I used. I thought I had it written in my journal, but I guess not. I took a recipe that looked similar, then adapted it to what we have in Korea.

From time to time you will find an ingredient that has about 5 kilos of sugar in it when it is completely unnecessary, (see any expat’s post about garlic bread.) So I’ve gone through the ingredients at my local GS and found the ingredients that ARE NOT SWEET. Except the sugar. That is sweet. Because it’s supposed to be.

Here are the ingredients that you’ll want to find:
– 6-7 Eggs, separated yolks/whites
– 1 pint whole milk (I literally used my Rogue pint glass for this measurement.)
– 1 cup cream
– 1/2 cup sugar (plus 2 tbsp for egg whites)
– 1 tsp vanilla
– 1 tsp nutmeg (add more if you want it. I do.)
– *cinnamon (if you want. I’m a sucker for anything cinnamon)

Whole milk

Cream. No sugar. Nice.

So what I did is this:

Take the egg yolks and whisk them until creamy. Slowly start adding the 1/2 cup sugar. Whisk it like a crazy person. Whisk, add. Whiskwhiskwhiskwhisk, add. Whiskwhiskwhiskwhiskwhiskwhiskwhiskwhisk, add. Whisk until your arms are tired and you end up with some yellowish stuff that resembles a melted Peep doused in marshmallow fluff. Make sure all the sugar is dissolved. It should look like this:

Image

This does no justice to either the color or consistency of the egg fluff.

You might be able to see a few intact grains of sugar in the above picture because my arms were tired. I took a break and took a picture… but I got right back to it! Then set it aside.

Next, your arms are really going to fall off because you get to pretend that you’re a standup mixer. lol. Hilarious. Have you ever tried to whip egg whites into soft peaks without a mixer? Yeah, it sucks. Add the 2 tbsp of sugar and beat the whites into oblivion. Then throw them in the blender for a few whirls if you have one, then pour them back into the bowl and keep going, because they’re just going to fizzle out and you’re going to start swearing at them. Encourage them with a little more sugar. Say nice things to them. Then give up when it’s mildly bubbly and you’re about to say “eff this noise” and the temptation pour them down the sink sets in. That’s a good stopping point.

Give your arms a break and add the cream, milk, and vanilla to the yolk mix. If you want it a little thicker, whip the cream in it first with the vanilla, then add the milk. Add your spices and then gently mix in the egg white mixture. Chill in the refrigerator and drink it later. This mix is good cold, but I especially like it hot… with rum or bourbon.

Even with all this, I added more nutmeg and cinnamon. There’s something wrong with me.

On a side note, I got hired to teach at a new school today. I won’t start until March 2013, but it’s at a fine arts middle/high school. I am freaking STOKED. Gonna go home and celebrate a little bit with my eggnog and booze. My one year gig just turned into three.

Happy Friday!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

