Bon Anniversaire, Korea.

1 03 2012

That’s not the same as saying “Bon voyage!”

Nope, you’re stuck with me for another year.

Tuesday was my one year anniversary of living in Korea. Time sure moved quickly. It doesn’t really seem like it’s been a year yet. Maybe it’s because I haven’t had four seasons in a year since 2009. Plus, being from the Oregon Coast, having four distinct, changing seasons is a new thing to me anyway.

As many of you know, I have a really tough time identifying the amount time that passed since I did something. “The other day” can literally mean months ago. And after mentioning something to a friend of mine that allegedly happened “a while back,” we discovered that “a while” means well over a year. That something was getting ditched for Halloween (in 2010 mind you,) and subsequently buying some vino and watching multiple episodes of 30 Rock, timed perfectly with a friend on the other end of the phone doing the same thing. Good times a while back.

But seriously, I got here yesterday. And it was a good day.

So here are a few photos of some of the things I did. (In no particular order)

On the bike trip in Gyeongju

Busan's Jalgalchi Seafood market sells octopus sashimi so fresh, it still moves.

The teachers' retreat included sashimi, drunken fireworks, and karaoke with the principal in Gangwon-do.

Mychaela and I at the Namsan Tower's lock deck.

Foreigner soccer game: Cheap tickets + free beer/food = serious debauchery.

We bought tickets to go to NK... but we couldn't actually go there.

All time favorite restaurant in the Googs.

Chris and I wandered around Seoul for years looking for this tiny owl museum. Worth it just for the quirkiness!

Never try to put on Daylin's glasses. They're terrible! But Muuido is awesome!!

At Orientation, we were the cool kids. Clearly. (Beware of the creeper)

Beautiful cherry blossoms! And I used to think Trombley was amazing. WOW.

The boys later developed the no-pants rule. Noraebangs get pretty intense!!

You've seen this one before. NYE was a blast!

Lauren and I were eating ice cream on an art instillation in Haeundae. Some guy wanted to take a picture. We obliged.

Dart Bar. All day, erry day. Complete with crazy shirts.

Or randomly running into college friends at MudFest. Great times with Val and friends!

We're in a motorcycle gang. We rented bikes and rode by the river while some idiots abused themselves playing paintball.

Girls night in Hongdae!! Always fun times!

To offset the cost of veggies, I grew my own last year and just started new sprouts! Stoked for peppers and broccoli!

Why Laura asked me to pick up this bike, and why that guy looks so stoked, I'm still not sure. Hongdae is the only explanation.

Spent the afternoon perusing Gyeongbukgung with Chris. That day, he also got a photo my my first-ever, completely Korean conversation with a guy selling fans. I need to go back and get a fan. They were gorgeous.

Orientation got pretty elitist at one point. We were the "Suji 6" (even though I don't live in Suji) and then Dorian jumped in.

Sports day is possibly my favorite school day of the year. This fall, we get sports day AND school festival. I'm excited!!

Deceptive flowers are stinky. Checking out the traditional houses in Gyeongju.

On the train of sparkly socks headed to Busan, which then brings us to the Philippines! Such a blast with Lauren!

Quite possibly my favorite picture of me with my students. On the Double Rock and Roll at Everland. What a crazy day!

So those are just a few of the highlights of this year in Korea. There were highs and lows, complications and smooth sailing days. Friends have come and gone and need to come back. There are some people that need to leave. There were students whom I can’t stand and those I want to adopt. Icky kimchi and delicious kimchi. (I make the delicious kind.)

Either way, my life is so good.

Actions

Information

One response

3 03 2012
Chris

What an awesome year; love the pictures!! Looks like a blast to make all that other craziness worth it. I remember the “Miss Chris, you are moving offices” talk. It went in Miss Chris’s favor, though.

Leave a Reply

