You Gotta Fight (BAM BAM) For Right… for AAAaaiiiiiiirrrrrr-CON!

22 06 2011

I get it, I get it. I fail as a blogger and you have not been entertained by my ridiculous stories for over 2 months.

Well, I’m busy living the life… Sweating it out, if you will.

Yesterday was summer solstice, and today, monsoon season reared its ugly head. I know a lot of you have kept up pretty well on the apartment issue, but let me catch you up. Somehow the crazy recluse who lived here before me managed to melt the insides of the air conditioner. Yes. Melt.  The air-con repair guy came in, tore it apart, and his face got all twisted up. I have never seen a Korean so confused. Thankfully my co-teacher was there to explain that no, Dani didn’t melt it, but she would like to use it. Well, lucky for me he unplugged the thing and said “Ha-ji-ma,” which basically means “Don’t do that.” He said that the entire unit will have to be replaced, so the earliest we could get somebody in would be 3 weeks from then. That would put me at, oh, July 11th. I have one fan, but it doesn’t do much. Mrs. Lee gave me that half shrug, half “that really sucks for you” look.

Well crap. My apartment is already poorly ventilated, and it got so muggy today that when I came home, my bunny was panting (BTW I rescued a bunny from certain doom. More on that later.) and three stalks on my monster mint plant (it’s over 2 feet tall.) were wilted. (Man, I really need to update you guys more often!) My blankets on my bed felt damp. This is not good. Right now they’re dry, but I’m going to have to be ridiculously tedious to make sure my apartment is mold free. I already have to mop/vacuum/sweep almost daily because it gets so dusty… Curse you China and your Yellow Dust!!!

Moving on.

Next day, we find out that the apartment building doesn’t own the AC unit. It isn’t owned by the school, either. It is owned by the city, who pays for my housing, and more importantly my salary as well. We call the office to find out about replacing the thing, but Korean Process wins again. There is a contract that says the city won’t buy a new one until Fall 2012. Over a year from now. This is 2011, and it is frigging hot out. It has been so hot that since April I’ve been sleeping on top of the blankets.

Next step: You need to read about FAN DEATH, the Korean superstition that today, hopefully worked to my advantage. 

When talking to the older crowd in the admin office, I mentioned that it is so hot that I keep my fan on ALL NIGHT LONG. I could potentially die from fan death. Better watch it, or you’ll have a potentially sticky situation. Ha. I really hope that one worked, because right now it’s 1 AM and it is so hot in my apartment that I can’t sleep. I’ll update you as I hear more back. Cross your fingers and think cold thoughts for me… And my overheated bunny with a really exciting name: Tokki. (토끼. It means “rabbit.”)

I’ll have more pictures and stories up next week, as I’ll have a lot more deskwarming time ahead!

This is my bunny, Tokki, when I first got him 2 months ago. He's much bigger now!

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

